Malaysia Visa Requirements

Here is some information on Malaysia Visa Requirements.

If you are planning a holiday in Malaysia you need to know whether or not you require a visa.

The good news is that citizens of most countries (except those 36 countries on the list below) can enter Malaysia without a visa for tourism purposes. Tourists will be able to stay for between 14 to 90 days depending on their nationality (see below for more details).

Those wishing to enter Malaysia for non-tourist purposes such as business, education or other longer term stays will need to apply for a visa before travelling from their nearest Malaysian diplomatic mission. The Malaysian authorities take a strict stance against illegal immigration. Do not overstay your visa, or violate the terms of entry. Even if you overstay for just a few days, you can be fined, detained, deported to your country of origin and blacklisted.

Malaysia Visa Requirements by Nationality

Nationals from the following countries DO need a visa, called a Visit Pass (Social):

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Angola
  3. Bangladesh
  4. Bhutan
  5. Burkina Faso
  6. Burundi
  7. Cameroon
  8. Central African Republic
  9. China
  10. Colombia
  11. Congo-Brazzaville
  12. Congo Democratic Republic
  13. Cote d'Ivoire
  14. Djibouti
  15. Equatorial Guinea
  16. Eritrea
  17. Ethiopia
  18. Ghana
  19. Guinea-Bissau
  20. Hong Kong (Certificate of Identity Holders)
  21. India
  22. Israel*
  23. Liberia
  24. Mali
  25. Myanmar
  26. Mozambique
  27. Nepal
  28. Niger
  29. Nigeria
  30. North Korea
  31. Pakistan
  32. Rwanda
  33. Serbia Montenegro
  34. Sri Lanka
  35. United Nations (Laissez Passer)
  36. Western Sahara

*Israeli passport holders are not permitted to enter Malaysia without written permission from the Malaysian Ministry of Home Affairs.


To help foreign nationals obtain their visa, the Malaysian Government has introduced eVISA, an online visa application platform. If approved, you just have to print out the eVISA and present it upon arrival at the Malaysian border entry checkpoints. These are single entry visas (multiple for Indian nationals) for a stay of up to 30 days. 

Who is eligible for eVISA?

So far, eligibility for eVISA is restricted to just the following nationalities:

  • China
  • India
  • Sri Lanka
  • Nepal
  • Myanmar
  • Bangladesh
  • Pakistan
  • Bhutan
  • Serbia
  • Montenegro

Electronic Travel Registation & Information (eNTRI)

Similar to eVISA, eNTRI is an online registration facility for tourists from the People's Republic of China and India only. Various terms and conditions apply but basically applicants can enter for a single stay stay of a maximum of 15 days only with no extension allowed.

Visa on Arrival

To confuse matters further, nationals of China and India arriving from Indonesia, Singapore or Thailand who hold a valid visa from those countries can obtain a visa on arrival to Malaysia for a maximum stay of 14 days (which cannot be extended) at Kuala Lumpur–International, Johor Bahru, Kota Kinabalu, Kuching or Penang airports, provided they hold return flight tickets and at least USD 1000 per person. The visa fee is 200 Malaysian Ringgit - other currencies are not accepted.

How to Apply For eVISA?

Application for visas for any country is always a troublesome business with so many documents to be provided and rules for the correct size and format of passport photos and so on. If you are computer literate and speak good English there is no reason why you cannot apply for an eVisa or eENTRI by yourself on the official Malaysian Government website.

But you don't want to have your application rejected, especially after already having booked and paid for your flights and accommodation. For this reason, some people prefer to get help from a  global visa agency who, for a fee, can guide you through the application process and check your documents are all in order before being sent to the government department.

No Visa Required Countries - Duration of Stay

Passport holders of the following nations can enter Malaysia without a visa for the maximum durations shown:

90 Days

  • All European Union citizens
  •  Albania
  •  Algeria
  •  Argentina
  •  Australia
  •  Bahrain
  •  Bosnia and Herzegovina
  •  Brazil
  •  Canada
  •  Cuba
  •  Egypt
  •  Iceland
  •  Japan
  •  Jordan
  •  Kuwait
  •  Kyrgyzstan
  •  Lebanon
  •  Liechtenstein
  •  Maldives
  •  Morocco
  •  New Zealand
  •  Norway
  •  Oman
  •  Peru
  •  Qatar
  •  San Marino
  •  Saudi Arabia
  •  South Africa
  •  South Korea
  •  Sudan
  •   Switzerland
  •  Tunisia
  •  Turkey
  •  Turkmenistan
  •  United Arab Emirates
  •  United Kingdom (except BNO passports - 30 days)
  •  United States
  •  Uruguay
  •  Yemen

30 Days

  • Andorra
  •  Antigua and Barbuda
  •  Armenia
  •  Azerbaijan
  •  Bahamas
  •  Barbados
  •  Belarus
  •  Belize
  •  Benin
  •  Bolivia
  •  Botswana
  •  Brunei
  •  Cambodia
  •  Cape Verde
  •  Chad
  •  Chile
  •  Comoros
  •  Costa Rica
  •  Dominica
  •  Dominican Republic
  •  Ecuador
  •  El Salvador
  •  Eswatini
  •  Fiji
  •  Gabon
  •  Gambia
  •  Georgia
  •  Grenada
  •  Guatemala
  •  Guinea
  •  Guyana
  •  Haiti
  •  Honduras
  •  Hong Kong
  •  Indonesia
  •  Iraq
  •  Jamaica
  •  Kazakhstan
  •  Kenya
  •  Kiribati
  •  Laos
  •  Lesotho
  •  Macau
  •  Madagascar
  •  Malawi
  •  Marshall Islands
  •  Mauritania
  •  Mauritius
  •  Mexico
  •  Moldova
  •  Monaco
  •  Mongolia
  •  Namibia
  •  Nauru
  •  Nicaragua
  •  North Macedonia
  •  Palau
  •  Palestine
  •  Panama
  •  Papua New Guinea
  •  Paraguay
  •  Philippines
  •  Russia
  •  Saint Kitts and Nevis
  •  Saint Lucia
  •  Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  •  Samoa
  •  São Tomé and Príncipe
  •  Senegal
  •  Seychelles
  •  Sierra Leone
  •  Singapore
  •  Solomon Islands
  •  Somalia
  •  South Sudan
  •  Suriname
  •  Syria
  •  Taiwan
  •  Tajikistan
  •  Tanzania
  •  Thailand
  •  Timor-Leste
  •  Togo
  •  Tonga
  •  Trinidad and Tobago
  •  Tuvalu
  •  Uganda
  •  Ukraine
  •  Uzbekistan
  •  Vanuatu
  •   Vatican City
  •  Venezuela
  •  Vietnam
  •  Zambia
  •  Zimbabwe

14 Days

  • Iran
  • Libya

Disclaimer: The information provided on this page is intended to be a guide only for  Malaysia visa requirements. Rules are complicated and subject to change at any time and you are advised to check with the official Malaysian Government websites and/or the Malaysian Embassy, High Commission or Consulate in your country of origin for the latest position. This website will not be held responsible for any losses or inconvenience incurred as a result of errors, omissions or out of date information.


Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below.

Share this page:

Like this website? Head over to my Facebook page and leave a like or comment:

You can also contact me via the link at the bottom of this page.